Best of: 2011 Huge Omission (Sherlock!)

BBC One

Somehow I forgot about a show that I have probably recommended to more people than any other new series (well, except Revenge) this year.  It’s a show that I cannot recommend enough to those who haven’t seen it.  Every minute of its three-episode first season is packed with entertainment.  It’s fun.  It’s cool.  It’s interesting.  It’s available for streaming on Netflix.  It’s the latest reimagining of Sherlock Holmes.  

I’m not one to discount remakes without some review, but I am fairly wary of them.  I found Sherlock Holmes on Netflix when it appeared in my suggestions section.  I’m not sure what made me watch it over the three hundred other things in my queue, but I’m so glad I did.  I just loved it.  It sort of reminded me of Sherlock Holmes meets House meets Bones.  I’d literally not heard anything about it before watching it, but after I watched it and gushed about it, both online and in conversation, I learned that plenty of people had seen it as well (in the US it aired on PBS in the Masterpiece series.)  I suppose it’s one of those best kept secrets – or the Sherlock Holmes purists of the world just didn’t enjoy it as much as I did.  Whatever the reason, I highly recommend it.    

Though I have enjoyed Robert Downey, Jr. and Jude Law in Guy Ritchie’s recent big screen updates of Sherlock Holmes, I really do prefer this small screen version.  The Sherlock and Watson portrayed by Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman offer more realistic, grounded performances in a story set in the present.  This version, then, has an updated, fresh, and forward feel.  Have you ever wondered if Holmes would be as spectacular, as superior to others, if modern technology were at play?  (The answer is yes!) 

I think I may have egregiously forgotten to include it on my 2011 lists because I honestly have tried to put it out of my mind since I have no idea when it’ll come back on in the States again (and I’m the kind of person who gets way too excited waiting for the return of her favorite shows).  Those lucky Brits get to see the first episode of the season two on New Year’s Day!  Still, since it’s a self-contained season, you don’t have to worry about starting it only to be left with some pesky cliffhanger until we get to see new episodes.  Clocking in at less than five hours, it’s a relatively small time investment, and the payoff is great.

Related Stories

If you take the time to tune in, or you’ve already seen it, let me know what you think in the comments section below.

About SS

Learn more about me at: http://goodtogrowyou.wordpress.com/about/shelley-s/
This entry was posted in Best of 2011, TV Favorites and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best of: 2011 Huge Omission (Sherlock!)

  1. Pingback: TV Funny Business: Yearend Note To Readers | tvhabit

  2. E says:

    After spending my vacation watching seasons 1 & 2 of White Collar (pretty much non-stop), this came up on my Netflix recommendations. I’m going to check it out! :)

Leave a Reply

