TV Funny Business: Missing a Sense of Community

Aviv Or

Perhaps because the dramas I follow far outnumber the comedies, the impact I feel from losing a laugher seems far greater.  Though Modern Family, New Girl, The Big Bang Theory and the handful of other sitcoms I tune in to continue to deliver this season, I couldn’t help but notice somewhat of a void in my TV diet.  It didn’t take long to identify what’s been missing lately: Community.

I knew I’d missed Community since it was unceremoniously ratcheted out of NBC’s schedule a couple of months ago.  Somehow, I was able to ignore the absence while I struggled to manage the deluge of new television over the last several weeks.  Like any uniquely smart and creative show will do, though, Community started to reenter my thoughts even before my viewing schedule lightened up.  As that happened, I truly began to recognize just how much I miss Troy (Donald Glover), Abed (Danny Pudi), and Annie (Alison Brie)… and Jeff (Joel McHale), Shirley (Yvette Nicole Brown)… and maybe even the Dean (Jim Rash).

Of course I’m used to small hiatuses throughout the year; I’ve even come to terms with those long post-cliffhanger breaks at the end of each season.  Still, I suppose I can’t help lament what I’ve been missing when I feel show substitutes and network excuses simply aren’t good enough to justify the absence.  Living without a return date only exacerbated those feelings.

Well, this week Community fans were finally gifted with some welcome news: a date has been set for the commencement of the second half of the season!  Come this March 15th, we will see the Greendale gang in its first new episode since December 8th’s Regional Holiday Music.  Even better, we should expect to be treated to a dozen new episodes as the season finishes out.

Hopefully all old fans come back – and bring new fans with them.  I’ve seen an advert or two on Hulu Plus plugging the availability of all Community episodes to date, and I like to believe it captured a few virgin viewers, because I’m not ready to count this gem out just yet.  Depending on how the current lineup and pilot crop do, there’s still a chance this little engine can and will get its six seasons and a movie.

Related Links

What are you hoping for out of this development?  Do you think Community has a chance to live on after this season?  Do you think it should?

About SS

Learn more about me at: http://goodtogrowyou.wordpress.com/about/shelley-s/
This entry was posted in TV Favorites, TV Funny Business and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TV Funny Business: Missing a Sense of Community

  1. Pingback: TV To Do: 2012 March Premieres | TvHabit

Leave a Reply

